ABOUT US

The academic corporation “Bukovina” is a color-wearing and freely fencing academic association in Chernivtsi. It is currently the only student corporation in Ukraine that follows an old Austrian and German student tradition according to the Comment.

The seat of the corporation is the German House in the Olha Kobylyanska Street.

The colors of corporation are explained with: intellect, honor and noble (dark blue), energy and action (red), eternal youth of the Bukovinian mind (green).

A.C. Bukovina stands out by emphasizing old Austrian and German ideas as well as national and cultural diversity. This is also expressed in the slogan “Viribus Unitis!” (With United Forces!), which was the same of Emperor Franz Joseph.

The chamber of the association is on the upper floor of the German House, where objects of corporation (e.g. own flag and coat of arms), pictures and documents are collected and presented.

A.C. Bukovina always strives to preserve the corporate movement in Chernivtsi, welcomes all fraternities in the city (especially color-wearing ones) and tries to establish contacts with other academic corporations abroad.

HISTORY

Quickly after the establishment of the Kaiser Franz Josef University in 1875, a rich academic couleur life developed in Chernivtsi. German, Jewish, Romanian, Polish and Ukrainian fraternities developed side by side, the organizational form of which was based on the traditions originating from German university culture, but also with national characteristics.

With the outbreak of the First World War and then the Second World War, the active academic corporate life came to an end.

A. C. Bukovina in Chernivtsi was founded by doctoral students from the historical faculty at the Chernivtsi State University in 1997. It was thus the first establishment of an corporate association on academic ground since 1918. The newspaper “Der Südostdeutsche Buchenlanddeutsche Zeitung” dated November 15, 1998 mentioned this.

The founding idea was presented in the following words: “… The name “Bukovina”… was not only determined by our nationality, but it also expresses the life of the association according to the basic types of the Bukovinian character (goodwill, loyalty to the given word, friendship).

The founding decision was also fueled by the desire to attract a new generation of academically coordinated youth based on the huge experience of the European corporate movement as well as to create a broader field for the renewal of academic traditions and a spirit of healthy competition among the student corporations… ”.

The following activities were formulated as priority:

1) scientific studies of Bukovina history,

2) research of Chernivtsi history,

3) popularisation of the academic corporate idea among the students,

4) study of the regional languages.


 

 

ACTIVITIES

Budenabend is organized twice a month or more. No other activities occur on these open-door evenings. There is a calm atmosphere: students can play chess, cards or another games, talk to each other, drink tea, coffee, beer and taste something delicious. “Meeting place: Bude!” Is the motto of this evening.

Scientific readings are meetings with experts in various fields of science and culture. There is a possibility to give and discuss a lecture on a current topic in front of the corporate students. Such readings occur once a semester.

Begrüßungsabend is time to meet old and new corporate members from friendly student associations. Such an welcome evening usually occurs once a semester.

Active recreation is organized 2-3 times per semester, depending on students’ wishes. It can be a sport (soccer, volleyball, basketball or tennis), a round trip.

Kneipe is a traditional student celebration with speeches, funny games, drinks and songs according to certain students customs and rules (Comment) and is intended to cherish friendship in a cheerful and sociable manner. Such feasts usually take place 2-3 times per semester.

Kommers is a solemn and representative form of the student Kneipe on a special occasion (e.g. on the occasion of the fraternity foundation, city or university anniversaries). The keynote speech plays an important role and when possible is given by an official.

Reception is the official candidate’s admission to the corporation organized by the Fuchsmajor or the Convent. This is is a ceremony of receiving by a student after his first semester in the association the status Fuchs (an unfull member of our academic corporation). A solemn reception and the two-color-ribbon receiving usually takes place in the official part of the Semester-end-Kneipe after a certain examination time.

Brandung (Branderung) is a ceremony of receiving by a student after his second semester in the association the status Brandfuchs (close to the full member of our academic corporation). The ceremony is held during the special Kneipe (Branderungskneipe) in its official part.

Burschung is the ceremony at which a student acquires the status of Bursch (after at least three semesters in our association). The procedure takes place only after he has successfully passed the Burschung-Exam and written an application to join the corporation. This event occurs at the end of the semester.

Philistrierung is the ceremony at which a Bursch becomes Philister (Alter Herr). This means he becomes an inactive member of the corporation. It takes place after his graduation from the university.

Landesvater is a solemn renewal of the Bursch-swear, which takes place on the fraternity foundation day (September 2), or at the special Kneipe (Landesvaterkneipe).

University foundation day: October 4, 1875.

ÜBER UNS

Die Akademische Verbindung «Bukowina» zu Czernowitz  ist eine farbentragende und freischlagende akademische Korporation in Czernowitz und zur Zeit die einzige Studentenverbindung in der Ukraine, welche der alten europäischen Studententradition nach dem Comment folgt. Sitz der Verbindung ist das Deutsche Haus in der Olha-Kobyljanska-Straße.

Die Verbindungsfarben werden mit Verstandskraft, Ehre und Edel (dunkelblau), Energie und Handlung (rot) sowie ewige Jugend des bukowinischen Geistes (grün) erklärt.

A.V. Bukowina zu Czernowitz hebt sich durch Betonung des altösterreichischen und deutschen Gedankens sowie der nationalen und kulturellen Vielfalt. Das kommt auch im Wahlspruch „Viribus Unitis!“ (Mit vereinten Kräften) zum Ausdruck, der jener des Kaisers Franz Joseph war.

Das Verbindungsheim ist im Obergeschoß des Deutschen Hauses, wo Couleurgegenstände (u. a. eigene Fahne und das Wappen), Bilder und Dokumente gesammelt und präsentiert werden.

A.V. Bukowina strebt immer nach Aufbewahrung des Korporationsgeistes in Czernowitz, sie heißt alle (besonders farbentragenden und mit dem Comment vertrauten) Vebindungen in Czernowitz willkommen und versucht mit anderen Korporationen im Ausland Kontakte aufzubauen.

GESCHICHTE

Rasch nach der Gründung der Kaiser-Franz-Josefs-Universität 1875 entwickelte sich in Czernowitz ein reiches farbstudentisches Leben. Nebeneinander entstanden deutsche, jüdische, rumänische, polnische und ukrainische Verbindungen, deren Organisationsform zwar an die aus der deutschen Universitätskultur stammenden Traditionen angelehnt waren, jedoch nationale Eigenarten herausbildeten.

Mit dem Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkriegs und danach des Zweiten Weltkrieges kam der Vorlesungsbetrieb und das aktive akademische Verbindungsende zum Ende.

1997 wurde die A. V. Bukowina zu Czernowitz von Doktoranden der historischen Fakultät an der Staatsuniversität Czernowitz (ehem. Kaiser-Franz-Josefs-Universität) gegründet. Es war dies die erste Czernowitzer Verbindungsgründung auf akademischem Boden seit 1918. Davon wurde in der Zeitung „Der Südostdeutsche Buchenlanddeutsche Zeitung“ vom 15.11.1998 erwähnt.

Die Gründungsidee stellte man mit folgenden Worten dar: „… Die Benennung „Bukowina“… wurde nicht nur durch unsere Landeszugehörigkeit bestimmt, sondern darin kommt das Bestreben der Gründer zum Ausdruck, das Leben der Verbindung auf die Grundeigenarten des bukowinischen Charakters (Wohlwollen, Treue zum gegebenen Wort, Freundschaft) zubauen.

Der Gründungsbeschluss wurde auch von dem Bestreben genährt, eine neue Generation der akademisch koordinierten Jugend auf der Grundlage der großen Erfahrung der europäischen Verbindungsbewegung heranzuziehen. Mit diesem Beschluss sollte überdies ein breiteres Feld zur Erneuerung der akademischen Traditionen und ein Geist gesunder Konkurrenz zwischen den Verbindungen geschaffen werden…“.

Als vorrangige Tätigkeiten wurden folgende formuliert:

1) wissenschaftliche Arbeit zur Landesgeschichte und Militärgeschichte,

2) ausführliche Erforschung der Czernowitzer Korporationsgeschichte,

3) Verbreitung der Verbindungsidee unter den Schülern der Abgangsklassen sowie Studium der Landessprachen.

VERANSTALTUNGEN

Budenabende werden zweimal pro Monat oder häufiger organisiert. An diesen Tagen veranstaltet man in unserer Studentenverbindung keine anderen Maßnahmen. Auf dem Haus herrscht eine ruhige, leichte Stimmung. Studierende können Schach, Karten oder noch ein Spiel spielen, sich miteinander unterhalten, Tee, Kaffee, Bier trinken und etwas Leckeres genießen. “Treffpunkt: Bude!”, so lautet das Motto dieses Abends.

Wissenschaftliche Lesungen sind Treffen mit Fachleuten auf verschiedenen Wissenschafts- und Kulturgebieten. Es gibt eine Möglichkeit vor den korporierten Studenten einen Vortrag zu einem aktuellen Thema zu halten und zu diskutieren. Solche Lesungen kommen einmal pro Semester vor.

Begrüßungsabend ist ein Treffen von alten und neuen Bundesbrüdern. Dazu werden Mitglieder von befreundeten Studentenverbindungen sowie Beitrittskandidaten eingeladen. Solcher Abend kommt einmal pro Semester vor.

Aktive Erholung wird je nach Wünschen von Studierenden 2-3 Mal pro Semester veranstaltet. Es kann eine Sportart (Fussball, Volleyball, Basketball oder Tischtennis), eine Rundfahrt zur anderen Stadt sein.

Kneipe ist eine traditionelle studentische Feier, die von ihren Teilnehmern bei Wort, Trunk und Gesang nach bestimmten Gebräuchen und Regeln des Kneipcomments gestaltet wird und in Fröhlichkeit und Geselligkeit der Pflege der Freundschaft dienen soll. Findet normalerweise 2-3 Mal pro Semester statt.

Kommers ist eine aus besonderem Anlass (z.B. anlässlich von Stiftungsfesten, Stadt- oder Universitätsjubiläen) festliche und repräsentative Form der studentischen Kneipe, trägt aber einen ernsteren Charakter. Eine wichtige Rolle spielt die Festrede, die möglichst von einer hoch gestellten Persönlichkeit gehalten wird.

Reception ist die offizielle Aufnahme eines Beitrittskandidaten durch den Fuchsmajor oder den Convent in den Verein. Feierliche Reception findet bei uns gewöhnlich nach einer bestimmten Prüfungszeit und einem kurzen Mitgespräch im Offiz einer Semesterabschlußkneipe statt.

Brandung (Branderung) wird bei uns am Ende des ersten Fuchsensemesters durch den Fuchsmajor nach einem Test im Offiz einer Brandungskneipe oder im Inoffiz einer anderen Kneipe (z.B. Semesterantrittskneipe) vollzogen.

Burschung ist eine Aufnahme des Fuchsen in die Verbindung nach zwei Semestern aktiven Lebens im Verein. Um zu überprüfen, ob der Anwärter mit Comment, Liedgut, Geschichte und Organisation des Vereins vertraut ist, sich in den Verein integriert hat, wird eine komplexe Burschenprüfung durchgeführt, nach deren Bestehen der Fuchs zur Burschung zugelassen wird. Sie erfolgt während des Offizes einer Kneipe.

Philistrierung ist eine Zeremonie des Übergangs eines Studierenden vom Aktiven zum Alten Herrn nach seinem Studiumabschluß (mit dem Examen).

Landesvater ist eine feierliche Erneuerung der Treueschwur unter Burschen, die sich im Rahmen des Stiftungsfestes (02.09.), der Universitätsgründung (04.10.1875) oder der Landesvaterkneipe vollzieht.